Banner Image

Databases

Categories


Academic & Scientific

Academic OneFile

Full-text and abstract periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, literature, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.

A selection of freely available primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Britannica Academic Edition

An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Britannica School

Thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases for elementary, middle, or high school students. There is Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

EBSCO GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general interest titles exploring the relationship between human beings and the environment.

EBSCO Teacher Reference Center

Covers on key education topics for K-12 teachers and librarians. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Educator's Reference Complete

Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale Literature Criticism

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Good Call Scholarship Search Engine

The GoodCall Scholarship Search Engine is one of the largest databases of scholarships on the web and is an excellent resource for college bound students looking to mitigate college expenses. Unlike other scholarship websites, the GoodCall Scholarship Engine is 100% free and open-access, meaning no personally identifiable information is required in order to use it.


Business & Government

A to Z Databases  

A to Z Databases is a research tool for public and academic libraries, and offers database access to U.S. businesses and residential listings, as well as U.S healthcare, consumer and employer databases. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Business Insights: Essentials  

Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale Directory Library

Covers early stage investors including: venture capitalists, business incubators, angel investors, corporate investment divisions, crowd-funding and co-operative groups. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Small Business Resource Center

Mapped to four key business stages - four key business stages—plan, fund, start and manage, this resource covers all major areas of starting and operating a business, including financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes. More than 850 business plans are included from the Business Plans Handbook series, with new business plans added monthly.


Genealogy

Ancestry.com

Discover your family history and start your family tree. Access billions of genealogy records including Census, Social Security Death Index, and Military records. Ancestry.com must be accessed using a computer at the Gates Public Library.

HeritageQuest  

A powerful and popular genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.


Health

Ask a Librarian

From the University of Rochester Medical Center, Edward G. Miner Library, patrons can send a question, request a literature search, meet with a Librarian, and virtually chat with a Librarian.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Medline Plus

MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.

Reliable Health Information Websites

From Rochester Regional Health Werner Medical Library, a list of helpful medical information websites.

Top Health Websites For Health Consumers and Patients

A list of health websites presented by the Medical Library Association (MLA).


Newspapers & Magazines 

Consumer Reports

Find product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends, and recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Newspapers.com

This is the largest online newspaper archive, with 11,500+ newspapers from the 1700s–2019, and it is constantly updated. It includes the Democrat and Chronicle from 1871-the present day. It is an excellent resource for all kinds of research, especially history and genealogy. Newspapers.com can only be used at the Gates Public Library. Please ask a reference librarian for help logging into Newspapers.com.

Gale New York State Newspapers

Search 26 full-text New York State newspapers and blogs, including The Buffalo News and the Syracuse Post-Standard. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale OneFile: News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale General OneFile

This database contains abstracts and full text news and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.


Reference

Auto Repair Source

Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls, and more. 

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

MCLS Databases

A comprehensive list of all Monroe County Library System (MCLS) Databases available to all Monroe County residents. Log in with your library card to access these databases.

NOVELNY Databases

New York Online Electronic Library (NOVELNY) is an online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker. Log in with your library card to access these databases.


Resources for Kids

Beanstack

Beanstack allows you to receive a weekly book recommendation for you child (ages 0 to 12) in your email which comes with a learning tip and a link to our catalog to locate the book. There are other fun features like app recommendations and learning guides, which are lists of books, crafts, activities and more based on a theme. Beanstack also allows you to log your child's reading so you can keep track of what books they have read.

Gale in Context: Elementary (Formerly Kids Infobits)

For beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale in Context: Middle School

Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.

Gale Literature: Something About the Author

Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.


What to Read Next

Beanstack

Beanstack allows you to receive a weekly book recommendation for your child (ages 0 to 12) in your email which comes with a learning tip and a link to our catalog to locate the book. There are other fun features like app recommendations and learning guides, which are lists of books, crafts, activities and more based on a theme. Beanstack also allows you to log your child's reading so you can keep track of what books they have read.

Gale Books & Authors

Answer the age-old question, “What do I read next?” Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.

Gale Literature: Book Review Index

Quickly access reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media representing a wide range of interests.

Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus is a reader's dream come true! You can use NoveList Plus to find recommended reads, find book discussion guides, find author readalikes.

Novelist K8 Plus

Novelist K8 Plus is a version of Novelist for children and middle school age readers. 

What's Next Database

This database chronicles the publication order of a variety of popular series.

WorldCat  

A worldwide catalog of library materials. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.